• Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Target Area: Burundi 

The Republic of Burundi is located between East and Central Africa in the area of ​​the Great Lakes (Lake Tanganyika) and is with its 27,834 km2 (of which 1,867 km2 is water) one of the smallest countries in Africa. Compared to Austria, Burundi is smaller than Lower and Upper Austria together. Burundi is bordered to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the north by Rwanda and to the south-east byTanzania. The official languages ​​are Kirundi and French. The population is ethnically divided into Hutu (about 85%), Tutsi (about 15%) and Twa (2%). Bujumbura is the capital and has a population of around one million. Burundi has over 11 million inhabitants nationwide.

Statistic figures: 

 

  • According to the World Bank, Burundi was one of the poorest countries in the world in 2017, with a capita GDP of $ 280.

  • The UN Human Development Report 2018 lists Burundi in the category of "Low Human Development" countries in 185th place out of 189 countries.

  • The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) counts Burundi among the "Least Developed Countries".

  • 81 percent of the population lives below the poverty line.

  • Population growth of over 3% exceeds economic growth significantly.

Historical Background 

Burundi is marked by a decades-long ethnopolitical conflict between Hutu and Tutsi, which culminated in a cruel civil war in the 1990s. Historically, it can not be determined with certainty whether the separation within the population arose on a functional basis (upper class and working class) or ethnic basis (ethnic groups) and how far it actually goes back in time. The fact is that the complex colonial past has produced enormous inequalities in the society. The constitution agreed on power sharing in government, parliament, administration, police and army, greatly weakening the polarization of Hutu and Tutsi at the political level. The major failure was that, after the end of the civil war, no independent reconciliation took place. Ethnic self-identification continues to be widespread. People do not identify themselves as Burundians, but still as Hutu and Tutsi or Twa. Likewise, political positioning and historical events are evaluated against the background of ethnic affiliation. For this reason, the population is very vulnerable to instrumentalization by individual political actors over ethnic identification patterns in order to capitalize on it and incite resentment towards the other ethnic group. And this in spite of the fact that at a political level, it is no longer primarily about the conflict between Hutu and Tutsi, but primarily between the prevailing regime and its political and social opponents.

Environment for Kids and Youth

Children and adolescents in Burundi are a particularly vulnerable target group. Children need a safe environment for healthy development that meets their childhood needs - regular sleep-wake cycle, food and drink, personal care, health care, safety, social community, appreciation, exercise, learning impulses, education. Here, the active game as an essential learning method and main activity of the child in the foreground. Through body experiences children strengthen their self-esteem and get to know their limits, express their feelings, but also the social interaction with other people.


Statistic figures: 

 

  • The average age of the population is 17,6 years.

  • 46% of the population are under 14 years old.

  • Compliance with international children's rights is not guaranteed as there is still insufficient awareness of this in society. Although public corporal punishment has been banned by the government, corporal punishment is still widespread in the family.

  • Due to the high birth rate, many children have no access to education and must already contribute to the family income at a young age. Based on the total population, 31.6% of children between the ages of 5 and 17 work. The classic role allocation that the boys look for work while the girls support the household and the parenting is Burundian reality.

  • The public space is not child friendly either. Freely accessible play areas as well as sports fields are looked for in vain in the densely populated capital Bujumbura. As a result, only the dangerous roads to (football) games remain for the majority of children.

• Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Zielgebiet: Burundi 

Die Republik Burundi liegt zwischen Ost- und Zentralafrika im Bereich der Großen Seen (Tanganjika-See) und gehört mit ihren 27.834 km2 (davon 1.867 km2 Wasser) zu den kleinsten Ländern Afrikas. Im Vergleich zu Österreich ist Burundi etwas kleiner als Nieder- und Oberösterreich zusammen. Gegen Westen grenzt Burundi an die Demokratische Republik Kongo, im Norden an Ruanda und im Süd-Osten an Tansania.

Die Amtssprachen sind Kirundi und Französisch.

Die Bevölkerung ist ethnisch unterteilt in Hutu (ca. 85 %), Tutsi (ca. 15 %) und Twa (2 %).

Bujumbura ist die Hauptstadt und zählt rund eine Million Menschen, landesweit hat Burundi über elf Millionen EinwohnerInnen. 

Zahlen: 

 

  • Burundi war 2017 laut der Weltbank mit einem BIP per Capita von $ 280 eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt.

  • Der UN Human Development Report 2018 bestätigt dies und listet Burundi in der Kategorie der „Low Human Development“ Länder an 185. Stelle von 189 Ländern.

  • Auch der Ausschuss für Entwicklungshilfe (DAC) der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) zählt Burundi derzeit zu den „Least Developed Countries“.

  • 81 Prozent der Bevölkerung lebt unter der Armutsgrenze. 

  • Das Bevölkerungswachstum von über 3% übersteigt das Wirtschaftswachstum deutlich.

Geschichtlicher Hintergrund

Burundi ist geprägt von einem Jahrzehnte andauernden ethnopolitischen Konflikt zwischen Hutu und Tutsi, welcher in den 1990er Jahren in einem grausamen Bürgerkrieg mündete. Es lässt sich historisch nicht mit Sicherheit feststellen, ob die Trennung innerhalb der Bevölkerung auf funktioneller Basis (Oberschicht und Arbeiterklasse) oder ethnischer Basis (Volksgruppen) entstand und wie weit sie tatsächlich zurückgeht. Tatsache ist, dass die komplexe koloniale Vergangenheit enorme Ungleichheiten produziert hat.  Man einigte sich in der Verfassung auf eine Machtteilung in Regierung, Parlament, Verwaltung, Polizei und Armee, wodurch die Polarisierung von Hutu und Tutsi auf politischer Ebene stark abgeschwächt wurde. Das große Versäumnis lag darin, dass nach Beendigung des Bürgerkriegs auf politischer Ebene keine unabhängige Aufarbeitung und Versöhnung innerhalb der Bevölkerung stattfand. Die ethnische Selbstidentifikation ist weiterhin stark verbreitet. Die Menschen identifizieren sich nicht als BurunderInnen, sondern nach wie vor als Hutu und Tutsi bzw. Twa. Ebenso werden politische Positionierungen und historische Ereignisse vor dem Hintergrund ethnischer Zugehörigkeiten bewertet. Aus diesem Grund ist die Bevölkerung sehr anfällig, für Instrumentalisierung durch einzelne politische Akteure über ethnische Identifikationsmuster, um daraus Kapital zu schlagen und Ressentiments gegenüber der anderen Volksgruppe zu schüren. Und dies trotz der Tatsache, dass es heutzutage auf politischer Ebene nicht mehr primär um den Konflikt zwischen Hutu und Tutsi geht, sondern vorrangig zwischen dem vorherrschenden Regime und seinen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Opponenten.

Lebensraum Kinder und Jugendliche 

Kinder und Jugendliche in Burundi stellen eine besonders gefährdete Zielgruppe dar. Sie sind am meisten verwundbar und besonders schutzbedürftig. Kinder brauchen für eine gesunde Entwicklung eine sichere Umgebung, in der ihre kindlichen Bedürfnisse – regelmäßiger Schlaf-Wach-Rhythmus, Nahrung und Trinken, Körperpflege, Gesundheitsfürsorge, Sicherheit, soziale Gemeinschaft, Wertschätzung, Bewegung, Lernimpulse, Bildung – befriedigt werden. Dabei steht das aktive Spiel als wesentliche Lernmethode und Haupttätigkeit des Kindes im Vordergrund. Durch Körpererfahrungen stärken Kinder ihren Selbstwert und lernen ihre Grenzen kennen, ihre Gefühle auszudrücken, aber auch den sozialen Umgang mit anderen Menschen.  


Zahlen: 

 

  • Das Durchschnittsalter der Bevölkerung liegt bei 17,6 Jahren.

  • 46% der Bevölkerung sind unter 14 Jahren. 

  • Die Einhaltung der internationalen Kinderrechte sind nicht gewährleistet, da in der Gesellschaft das Bewusstsein dafür noch nicht ausreichend vorhanden ist. Obwohl an öffentlichen Schulen die körperliche Züchtigung von der Regierung bereits verboten wurde, ist die Prügelstrafe in der Familie noch weit verbreitet.

  • Auf Grund der hohen Geburtenrate haben viele Kinder keinen Zugang zur Bildung und müssen in jungen Jahren bereits zum Familieneinkommen beitragen. Gemessen an der Gesamtbevölkerung arbeiten 31,6% der Kinder zwischen 5 und 17 Jahren. Die klassische Rollenverteilung, dass die Jungen Arbeit suchen, während die Mädchen beim Haushalt und der Kindererziehung mittragen, ist burundische Realität.  

  • Auch der öffentliche Raum ist nicht kinderfreundlich. Frei zugängliche Spiel- sowie Sportplätze sucht man in der dicht besiedelten Hauptstadt Bujumbura vergebens. Da bleibt für die Mehrzahl der Kinder folglich nur die gefährlichen Straßen zum (Fußball-)Spielen.